The Backus-Page House Museum is a living history museum located within the grounds of John E. Pearce Provincial Park at 29424 Lakeview Line, south of Wallacetown, Ontario, Canada. The Georgian style house, built by Robert Morris, for Andrew and Mary Jane Backus, has been restored as closely as possible to its 1850’s state.
Andrew Backus was the son of settlers, Stephen Backus and Anne Storey-Backus who came to Tyrconnell in 1810 and 1809 respectively. The land the house sits on was obtained by Andrew’s grandmother, Mary Storey, from Colonel Thomas Talbot, and when her son Walter died without children, she left it to her grandson Andrew.
The property is well appointed and is home to heritage gardens, a replica bee house (the design of which dates back to the 1820s) and the St. Peter’s Anglican Church rectory horse barn which was built in 1896 and moved to the Backus-Page House Museum property in 2005. The picnic area and carriage house office with kitchen are available to rent for meetings, events, weddings, and other special occasions.
The museum is maintained and run by the Tyrconnell Heritage Society which is a local independent non-profit organization. The society is funded by grants, fundraising events, and donations. Please visit our website www.backuspagehouse.ca for upcoming events and information on becoming a member or volunteer.
Thanks to the Backus-Page museum for providing material. If you have a museum or history story for us please contact firstname.lastname@example.org